Self Portrait

For my self-portrait, my intent was to capture my inner emotions that do not necessarily display on my personal surface; For quite some time now, I have been struggling with anxiety and depression, and the process of it has not been an easy one. I’ve had to attend therapy, and have been diagnosed a medication to help my emotions to quiet down, however, there have been times where I’ve found myself completely overwhelmed and in rough positions. The face on the right side, represent my anger and frustration towards the situation. The face on the left side is the face I used to convey my actual depression and anxiety. The face in the middle is the mask I tend to wear amongst a crowd; Very still, very quiet, and leaving my other faces fade into the background. I chose to use charcoal to help give my portrait a darker presence and to help with contrast to my portrait.

I chose to use charcoal to help give my portrait a darker presence and to help with contrast to my portrait. Another reason I  chose to use charcoal is my colorblindness. I have an extremely difficult time using colors, thus I attempt to use as few colors aside from Black, white, and gray as I can. I’ve learned quite a bit since I’ve begun the DMA program, and my hands-on art skills have come a long way, I’m quite proud of the work that I accomplished with this portrait.

This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

