Core Sample Art Exhibit (Write Up)

This weekend, I took a walk down to see the Core Sample art exhibit, at the Alfred Ceramic Art Museum. I thought the pieces displayed were quite interesting, I saw a lot of different works, from many different collections. All with their unique styles and background stories, from many different artists who used ceramics, crystals, porcelain, metal, wood, and countless other mediums.

I took note of some of the pieces that truly caught my eye, and stood out to me. The first piece I noticed when I walked into the exhibit was a was a small sculpture sitting on a pedestal, made of stoneware and metal, and was painted over. This piece titled Spooks, made in 1986, portrays 3 demonic or dark creatures, standing around a bassinet, with a demonic or dark spirited child in the bassinet. Although it was not the most optimistic piece in the whole exhibit, it is more than enough to grab someone eye who is just walking into the room.

The Next piece I stopped at was a piece titled Leave Your Sumptuous Grandeur And Return to these Rocks, made by Jesse Ring. A recent work of art made in 2015. This piece was constructed from Parian, Colored slip, Borax, Crystals, and Acrylic Vitrine. This sculpture portrays two people, when analyzing it, it seems that there is one person holding the other in a cradle like hold. What is so appealing about this piece is the mediums used to make it. The crystals give the artwork such an appealing sparkle which draw eyes to it almost immediately.

The final piece I’ll be addressing is Doll, by Michaelene Walsh. Built it 1995, Walsh created her sculpture using stoneware, wood, metal, and hemp. What intrigued me about this piece was all the different textures that it had. The way that one hand of the doll could be constructed of wood, while the other hand was made of metal, was just an incredibly appealing factor of the sculpture.

I enjoyed visiting the exhibit quite a bit, if I find more ceramic art shows in the nearby area, I’m strongly considering going to see what interesting works the exhibit might hold, and hope that I enjoy them as much as I enjoyed seeing this exhibit.

This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

