Helvetica the Movie Write Up

During our mini-break for Rasahan, one of my professor assigned my class to watch another documentary film by Gary Hustwit, Helvetica. In summary, the movie discusses the origins of the Helvetica font, and its impact on our world and modern day society. Helvetica is latin for “The Swiss Type Face,” originated in Muchenstien, Switzerland, Helvetica, is now the most popular and well-recognized font in the entire world. What makes Helvetica so unique, is that it is very open various forms of interpretation, giving each viewer of it a different meaning, which interim results in marketers and graphic designers to create endless uses for the font.

My personal opinion on the movie, although it was very informative, I cannot say that I truly enjoyed this movie. I felt that its main points were incredibly repetitive, and about 30 minutes into the film, I lost my interest. I did gain a lot of information from this film, but this was simply a result of its overuse of repetition.

This entry was posted in Non-timebased, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

